B in the Mix: The Remixes Vol. 2

Chaotic EP B in the Mix: The Remixes Vol. 2 is the second remix album by Britney Spears. It was released on October 11, 2011 through RCA Records. On September 9, 2011, Spears announced the release by posting the cover artwork and track listing on her Tumblr account. The album includes remixes of various tracks from her studio albums Blackout (2007), Circus (2008) and Femme Fatale (2011), as well as a remix of “3” and, exclusively in Japan, a remix of “My Prerogative”. The remixes were done by disc jockeys such as Kaskade, Tiësto and Benny Benassi. The music was influenced by various genres of pop music, such as dance-pop and pop rock.

The album has sold over 100,000 copies worldwide.

Album Details

  • Release date: October 11, 2011
  • Recorded: 2004–11
  • Genre: Dance-pop, pop rock, disco, house, trance, electro
  • Length: 56:11
  • Label: RCA
  • Producer: Britney Spears, Max Martin, Danja, Dr. Luke, Tiësto, Bloodshy & Avant, Darkchild, Shellback, Benny Benassi, The Clutch, Billboard, Kaskade, Chris Smith, Philip Larsen, Gareth Emery, Linus Loves, K. Briscoe.
  • Buy it on iTunes

Release and artwork

In November 2005, Spears released her first remix album, B in the Mix: The Remixes. During the next six years, she released three studio albums: Blackout (2007), Circus (2008) and Femme Fatale (2011). Online store Fragantica.com reported that Spears’ new fragrance Cosmic Radiance could “be expected with launch of new remix album” by Spears in August 2011. On September 2, 2011, Sony Japan posted the cover artwork of B in the Mix: The Remixes 2, along with the announcement that it would feature unreleased tracks. The cover art for the album features Spears smirking with hair in her face behind a butterfly, while wearing a silk outfit. Amy Sciarretto of PopCrush said that although the cover resembled that of B in the Mix: The Remixes, it is “a somewhat unflattering shot of the normally gorgeous star.” On September 9, 2011, Spears posted the official cover artwork and track listing for B in the Mix: The Remixes Vol. 2 on her Tumblr account. The track listing included remixes of three tracks from each of her last three studio albums, as well as a remix of “3” from The Singles Collection (2009). However, the Varsity Team remix of “Criminal” was removed from most editions before the album’s release and replaced with the radio mix.

The cover photo is an outtake from her Femme Fatle album shoot by Randee St. Nicholas. Click here to view the original photo.

Track listing

  1. “Criminal” (Radio Mix)
  2. “Gimme More” (Kaskade Club Mix)
  3. “Piece of Me” (Tiësto Club Mix)
  4. “Radar” (Tonal Club Remix)
  5. “Womanizer” (Benny Benassi Extended)
  6. “Circus” (Linus Loves Remix)
  7. “If U Seek Amy” (U-Tern Remix)
  8. “3” (Manhattan Clique Club Remix)
  9. “Till the World Ends” (Alex Suarez Club Remix)
  10. “I Wanna Go” (Gareth Emery Remix)

Japanese edition

  1. “Gimme More” (Kaskade Club Mix)
  2. “Piece of Me” (Tiësto Club Mix)
  3. “Radar” (Tonal Club Remix)
  4. “Womanizer” (Benny Benassi Extended)
  5. “Circus” (Linus Loves Remix)
  6. “If U Seek Amy” (U-Tern Remix)
  7. “3” (Manhattan Clique Club Remix)
  8. “Till the World Ends” (Alex Suarez Club Remix)
  9. “I Wanna Go” (Gareth Emery Remix)
  10. “Criminal” (Varsity Team Extended Remix)
  11. “Break the Ice” (Tonal Remix)
  12. “Hold It Against Me” (Funk Generation Club Remix)
  13. “My Prerogative” (X-Press 2 Radio Edit)
  14. “Criminal” (Tom Piper & Riddler Remix Radio Edit)

Commercial performance

The remix album achieved moderate success worldwide. In the United States, B in the Mix: The Remixes Vol. 2 entered the Billboard 200 at number forty-seven, with sales of 9,000 copies, for the issue dated October 19, 2011. It also reached number four on the Dance/Electronic Albums component chart. In the United Kingdom, the album peaked outside the top hundred, at number one-hundred-and-seventy-one, while debuting at number nine on the Dance Albums Chart. In Canada, the remix album debuted at number fifty-three, and peaked within the top thirty in Italy. B in the Mix: The Remixes Vol. 2 reached the top ten on South Korean Gaon Albums Chart, where it reached number seven, and on Argentine Albums Chart, where it reached number five.

The album has sold over 100,000 copies worldwide.

Stream it on Spotify